A web browser can be defined as a program or application software which is designed to the user to access, retrieve the documents and other necessary information on internet. Browsers can also be used for accessing the information from the web server provided by private network though they are primarily used to access World Wide Web. The prime web browsers are Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Opera and Google Chrome. All the pages that have been browsed by a user are kept in the computer itself. Each browser has its own history location, for e.g. in Mozilla Firefox the browsed history is stored at “C:\Documents and Settings\(User Name)\Application Data\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles” or go to start menu and run “%APPDATA%\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles”, for Internet Explorer the path for stored history is “C:\Users\username\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\History”, in Google Chrome the browsed history is stored in the location “C:\Documents and Settings\<User Name>\Local Settings\Application Data\Google\Chrome\User Data” and in Opera it is stored at “C:\Documents & Settings\"user name"\Application Data\Opera or "Opera folder"\profile”.
If you have deleted manually the browser history and thinking that the history is permanently deleted then you’re wrong. The deleted history can be undeleted by using the undelete function. This particular feature is not at all applicable for permanent deletion. To delete forever browser history even if you’re deleting the folder containing all the information about the browser history, still it can be recovered. The browser history will still be there irrespective of the deletion way of the storage space. Because formatting / re-formatting of the logical drive or the storage space will simply declare the storage space as free to store any new data. You should know that the browser history deleted by anyway from your computer can still be restored if it is not overwritten. In case you want the confidential browser history to keep yourself and not to disclose anyone else then you should use tool which can clear search history completely from a particular browser history in case you don’t want to disclose them to anybody. Eraser application like File Eraser Tool can come handy to permanently delete files. This software overwrites the contents of the particular data which you want to erase permanently with garbage value over and over for atleast three times. It utilizes 9 different international disk sanitization methods and shredding patterns which are prominently used around the globe. This software uses applicable shredding patterns and international disk sanitization methods to remove files permanently by overwritting the contents of the files.
It provides easy to use graphic user interface which assist safely deleting your confidential data from your hard drive. The entire logical drive data can be erased beyond recovery by providing maximum number of drive wiping methods. Using Drive Wipe application you can also permanently remove files from hard drive.
This software is only applicable to Windows operating systems like Microsoft Windows Vista, Windows XP, Windows 7, Windows server 2003 and Windows server 2008. Using this application the confidential browser history can be deleted beyond recovery irrespective of the browser type you are using. This tool is even capable of erasing Windows 7 files forever, so that no one can recover the files when you sell it or donate it to someone else.
Steps to delete forever browser history:
Step 1: Download and install the demo version of File Eraser Tool to your system from which you want to delete all data forever from the browser history. Then launch the application. As the application is launched successfully you’ll get a welcome screen having the list of all the physical drive and logical drives as well on the left tree pane as shown in Fig 1 below:
Figure 1: Main screen after successful launching
Step 2: Select the logical drive in which the browser history is located. As the files are selected then double click on them to add them in shredding zone as shown in Fig 2 below:
Figure 2: Select the files to be shredded
Step 3: After that select the preferable shredding pattern by going to the Shredding Option either from the tool menu or from the tool bar as shown in Fig 3 below:
Figure 3: Select the Shredding option
Step 4: Once the shredding pattern is selected, then click on Shred files and folders list to start the shredding process. After the process is over a pop up message will be displayed informing the completion of the file shredding process.