In Windows OS if you delete a file, then it’ll be immediately stored in the Recycle Bin and the file will bypass the Recycle Bin and completely vanishes from the sight if it is deleted using shift + delete key combination. One of the common misconceptions of most of the computer users is that if a file is emptied from the Recycle Bin or deleted by using shift + delete keys then the file is deleted forever. But the actual fact is that the file is still there in the hard drive as intact where as the index of the file system or the allocation part of that particular file will be marked as the free space. The deleted file can simply be recovered using any file recovery software. Files deleted / lost due to formatting / re-formatting are also not permanently erased. Generally formatting is done in order to reuse the used disk space. But it doesn’t erase the files permanently. It simply marks the drive space as free. So the files deleted by formatting can still be recovered using any file recovery software if they are not overwritten. You can use file eraser software to delete your files permanently.
Sometimes you need to completely delete data from USB Drive, which are carrying confidential or sensitive data in it so that it can never be accessed by anyone. Or else some business information containing customer’s details should be removed from the computer permanently. Even though you have deleted those files from your computer using some of the methods like formatting / re-formatting etc. but still those deleted files are not yet safe. All the files deleted by any of the above process can be entirely retrieved until and unless they are overwritten with some other contents. That’s why the file eraser tool is introduced. To delete forever deleted files you can use file eraser program like Drive Wipe Software.
This software unlinks the recycle files as well as overwrites the files with some garbage values so that it can never be restored using any file recovery tool. It is an advanced file eraser tool (for Windows) which allows you to remove files forever containing sensitive data from your logical drives or hard drive by overwriting their contents several times. For overwriting purpose this software uses 9 different sanitization standards which are highly reviewed and recommended. This software can even delete data from hard disk forever. Using this delete forever application you can permanently delete internet history in case you don’t want to reveal to anyone. Actually what this software does is, it repeatedly overwrites the actual content of your hard drive forever with some random data atleast three times so that those overwritten file contents cannot never be recovered. The different disk sanitization methods followed by this software are Random Overwrite, Fast Zero Overwrite, US Department of Defense (DoD 5220.22-M)_DOD Standard 5220.28 STD, Peter Gutmann Secure Deletion, North Atlantic Treaty Organization_NATO Method, Gutmann method etc.
By making use of various shredding patterns people can wipe out entire data from Android phone also, before selling or giving it to anyone for use. This software works well with Microsoft Windows versions like Windows XP, Vista, Windows 7, Windows server 2003 and Windows version 2008 etc. on both 32 bit and 64 bit system. If you have multi-boot system and you want to erase the files on one of the drive which is installed with Windows 7, then you can perform secure deletion of Windows 7 data easily with this software. It can shred the folders and files which are previously deleted. This software supports file erasing from FAT 16, FAT 32, NTFS, NTFS5 formatted partitions / drives. You can alsodelete data permanently from SD memory cards. You can store pictures, videos and music files on SD cards. Any one can misuse the data if it is not deleted permanently.
Steps to delete forever deleted files:
Step 1: Download and launch the File Eraser application. After launching it you’ll find the detail list of physical and logical drives. Select the "Wipe Free Disk" option. After that select the logical drive logical drive from which you want to deleted deleted files and click “OK” button as shown in Fig 1 below:
Figure 1: Select Logical drive
Step 2: After the clicking “OK” button you’ll get a Windows displaying the process of deleted files getting erased from the selected logical drive as shown in Fig 2 below:
Figure 2: Deleted Files Wiping Process
Step 3: After the emntire process is completed, a message "Successfully Erased" is displayed as shown in Fig 3 below:
Figure 3: Process complete